Eat At Pink’s! (6 – gulp – days before 40)

Some of you may have missed that when I started this series, I mentioned that if anyone had a blog prompt for me, I’d take it.  Someone (see photos below) was being a little cheeky and said “maybe you can blog about it”, so I’m doing that (see also, below).  (I still owe two people posts from blog prompts and I’ve got 5 days to get ‘er done…so look out for a short story and a list of reasons why you should tell your friends to date me…yup…someone asked me to blog about that.)

***

I’ve been pretty open on this blog about my propensity to procrastinate and/or not follow through on things I say I want to do.  I’m growing leaps and bounds in this area of my life, but this is a story of of one of those things.  It’s a story of how easy it is to let simple things slip by that you mean to do.  It’s also a story about how simple things get done when you say things out loud.

***

The first time I ever visited Los Angeles was in grad school in 1999.

Seriously.  How old am I?!  (See previous posts.)

A little movie called Fools Rush In had gotten me and a friend to Gray’s Papaya for hotdogs in New York City the year before and somehow I had heard that Pink’s hotdogs was the hotdog joint for Los Angelenos, but a professor assured us that Carnie’s was a better option so I didn’t get my Pink’s that trip.

Then I moved to Los Angeles in 2002 and thought…I must eat at Pink’s.  It’s a thing.  It’s something you’re supposed to do when you live in LA.  It’s a hotdog stand that’s been around for 62 years!  I must!  But I didn’t…

In 2005, the school I worked at moved to a new location and I had to drive past Pink’s nearly every day and thought…I must eat at Pink’s.  It’s a thing.  It’s something you’re supposed to do when you live in LA.  It’s a hotdog stand that’s been around for 65 years!  I must!  But I didn’t…

In 2013, I made a list of 40 things I wanted to do before I turned 40 and eating at Pink’s was #2 (Confession: I’ve only crossed about 5 things off that list but climbing to Maccu Picchu and doing foster care were the two biggest ones and I did those, so I’m feeling pretty solid) because I thought…I must eat at Pink’s.  It’s a thing.  It’s something you’re supposed to do when you live in LA.  It’s a hotdog stand that’s been around for 73 years!  I must!  But (you guessed it) I didn’t…

In 2015, I did a play and through a random conversation in the dressing room realized that at least one of my other cast mates had also never eaten at Pink’s and I thought…We must eat at Pink’s!  It’s a thing!  It’s something you’re supposed to do when you live in LA.  It’s a hotdog stand that’s been around for 75 years!  We must!  But we didn’t…

And then, two weeks ago, after a year of randomly mentioning that we should go to Pink’s I got an email that said this…

Pink’s?!

To which (three days later) I replied…

When?!

To which (six days later) he replied…

Pick a day!!

Five days after that we picked one.  And two days after that we went.  And I thought…I have eaten at Pink’s!  It’s a thing!  It’s something you’re supposed to do when you live in LA.  It’s a hotdog stand that’s been around for 75 years!  I must!  And I did…

And then I found out it was ALSO a birthday present…and I love birthday presents…so that was fun!  And then he said “maybe you’ll blog about it”, so I blogged about it.

Here’s what I know.  Pink’s hotdogs are pretty good.  Friendships are better.  Doing things you’ve been wanting to for awhile with friends is the best.  So figure out what your “Eat at Pink’s” thing is…even if you think it’s small or silly.  (I can’t be the only one who has one.)  Then say it out loud, preferably not while in an empty room, and see who comes along to join you.

IMG_2578
Pink’s!
IMG_2579
A sampling of the overwhelming number of choices on the menu.
IMG_2580
Emeril Legasse Bam Dog, Planet Hollywood Dog and Pink(s) Lemonade.  (AKA These might give me a heart attack dogs.)
IMG_2581
Sharing is caring but tiny plastic knives are no match for polish sausage.
IMG_2582
It only took 17 years.

***

Here’s that little disclaimer I mentioned at the top: (This post is part of a series called 40 Before 40.  40 random thoughts on the 40 days before I turn 40 years old.  If you have a post suggestion, send it on.  Creativity is collaborative and I’ll take any writing prompts you want to send my way. I’ve got a few slots left to fill.)

Leave a Reply

