The Best Laid Plans (34 before 40)

I’ve set my intention for writing every single day for at least five minutes for the 40 days before I turn 40 years old, but just as in my 31 Days challenge, sometimes I find myself having to skip a day.  Yesterday it was for two hours of writing on the feature script I’m trying to finish by March 10th, an afternoon/evening with two of my favorite girlfriends at the Ace Hotel in Downtown Los Angeles where we took in the Oscars among a crowd of strangers.  We dressed up, we ate popcorn, I won at Oscar bingo (thanks to Brie Larson and Spotlight taking home awards…my favorite actress and favorite movie of the year.)

After the Oscars, one of my best people was also having his birthday party on the top of that very same building, so I enjoyed a drink overlooking the beautiful lights of Downtown LA while meeting new friends, catching up with old ones and having a generally good time talking about everything from The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt to “family friendly-ing” a project where two guys are running around the desert naked to how to find a car in Downtown LA while operating under drunk directions.

So, I didn’t write a blog post yesterday, but I had hours of productivity and fun and a bunch of new stories and I think it was well worth the sacrifice.  (Plus, I’m just gonna write two today anyway.)

Leave a Reply

