Peanut Butter Memories (33 before 40)

Today marks 33 days before I turn 40.  And this 40 Before 40 post is brought to you by the fabulous Amber Wood.  She asked me: “What is your most profound memory of peanut butter?”

My initial thought was a story that my roommate in college told about eating a lot of peanut butter straight out of the jar.  She ate enough quickly enough that it gummed up in her throat and for awhile she couldn’t breathe and thought she might die.  But that’s my memory of someone else’s memory.

3917429353_cbe77347ed_z

I’m not sure I could call it profound but my earliest and most distinct peanut butter memory took place on an almost daily basis in my Mom’s bedroom, circa 3rd through 5th grade.  Back then, it was socially acceptable to let your kids come home by themselves after school and I did.  I, however, was a TV-worm (you know…like a bookworm but…) and liked to watch a lot of television (Who am i kidding?  I still do.), but I wasn’t supposed to watch it after school…especially “bad” shows with “bad” messages.  One day my mom came home and I turned it off quickly to work on my homework but she was smarter than me and felt our old tube television for warmth.  I was busted.

But I was also wise.

I remember almost every day after that, for I don’t know how long, coming home by myself, making a plate full of peanut butter crackers (still one of the best snacks in the world), grabbing a frosty A&W root beer, and heading up to my mother’s bedroom to watch He-Man and the Masters of the Universe on her tiny 12″ television.  I would sit at the end of the bed with my snack, just feet from the dresser on which the television sat and turn the volume as low as possible so if any adult entered the house, there was no way they could hear the fact that I was watching a show that was ABSOLUTELY FORBIDDEN in my house (because by the power of Grayskull and all that).

I would watch to my heart’s content and when I heard my mom or my step father come home, I’d quickly turn it off and would be completely out of the vicinity of a television before anyone was the wiser.

And I never got caught for watching tv after school when I wasn’t supposed to again.

***

(This post is a part of a series called 40 Before 40.  40 random thoughts on the 40 days before I turn 40 years old.  If you have a post suggestion, send it on.  Creativity is collaborative and I’ll take any writing prompts you want to send my way.)

3 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Memories (33 before 40)

  1. OMG! My dad used to feel the tube, toooooooo! Wish we had grown up closer…I was alone watching He-Man and so many other shows while eating cheddar slices on saltines…or chocolate syrup on saltines…ewww.

    Like

Leave a Reply

